Rich should eat poorly and Poor should eat richly!

Ahh.. Once again everything narrows down to the lifestyle and our eating habits.
Let’s talk about the disorders seen in an affluent society in which diet is a direct or indirect culprit. To list few common disorders-

  • Diabetes
  • Hypertension
  • Obesity
  • Cardiovascular troubles
  • Hormonal imbalances
  • Gastric disturbances
    When these patients come to me and I restrict their Diet (up to30-40 food-items) they are still depressed and miss everything that is bad for their health I get many questions- “Can I eat this or can I eat that” (Even though the food allowed is a feast in itself  )

OTHER SIDE OF THE COIN-
Let’s compare them to the ones found in deprived neighbourhood related to diet-
Protein Energy Malnutrition
Vit A deficiency
 Infections
When I consult these patients and suggest them to include some basic vegetables or pulses in their diet, they look at me as if I am talking in some alien language. Suggestion of milk and it’s like that patient is never coming back!
When my mind is in overdrive and I think about this huge chasm, sometimes it makes me sad and sometimes I simply laugh. I wish I had the superpower to swap their dietary situation! Both of them would profit greatly healthwise…
Irony is everyone is sick and the reasons for both of the victims are completely polar.
Prosperous kids are sick because of too much packages food, fast food, and unhealthy food and so on.
Underprivileged kids are sick because they do not have anything to eat and what they eat is not nutritive enough to meet the body needs.
So, next time before we complain about our food options- let’s count our blessings and bless our tummy with good food!

Leave Your Comments Here

